Nowbody calls me Ignacio. I’m plunchete, man!

Streaming support for PostgreSQL in Apache OpenJPA

Posted in OpenJPA by plunchete on May 13, 2008

Hi all,

Yesterday was commited to the 1.1.0 branch my patch with Stream support in PostgreSQL. PostgreSQL uses a diferent table to save the Large Objects and now Apache OpenJPA does it in the right way, in my opinion is a good news to the people who works with OpenJPA and Postgres, now they have more funcionalities. I addition, I’ created some docs about the Streaming LOB support, and the JIRA issue is resolved. You can try it in the nightly snapshot relase, I think that it will be an official release soon. Now is the time to look for another issues to contribute with this project.

At the moment Apache OpenJPA has Streaming support in MySQL, Oracle, Micrsoft SQL Server and PostgreSQL.

I’m very happy to contribute with this community, also this is one of “my things to do this year“.

PS I promise to increase my post in this blog🙂

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hiran Chaudhuri said, on February 25, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    Does this really work? I am having trouble getting OpenJPA 1.2.1 and PostgreSQL 8.4 to work with a persistent stream. Although it is marked as

    @Persistent
    @Lob
    InputStream data;

    I get this exception:

    org.apache.openjpa.lib.jdbc.ReportingSQLException: ERROR: column “data” is of type bytea but expression is of type integer {prepstmnt 21132756 INSERT INTO FileEntry (filename, data) VALUES (?, ?) [params=(String) D:\conns.xml, (int) 17089]}

    Would appreciate to see a working example.

  2. plunchete said, on February 25, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    Hi Hiran,

    I did the patch like 2 years ago. I don’t know if its working now or what, please ask to the list.

    Just in case, try to use the annotation @Persistent and don’t use @Lob, the column in the table must be an int.

    Cheers,


Leave a Reply

